Your Councillors by Political Grouping

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

Councillors stand for election for a political party. Once they are elected, for the purposes of Council business, they may join political groups within the Council.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details can found by clicking onto the indiviudal Members below.

Information about Councillors

Chairman of the Council

Be a Councillor

Members Allowances

Complaints about Councillors

To find your councillor please use the below links:

 The Conservative Group

 Tendring Independents

 The Labour Group

 Independent Group

 Liberal Democrats

  • Councillor Terence Barrett

    Lawford, Manningtree & Mistley

    Liberal Democrats

    Vice-Chairman of the Community Leadership Overview & Scrutiny Committee

  • Councillor Matthew Bensilum

    Lawford, Manningtree & Mistley

    Liberal Democrats

  • Councillor Gary Scott

    Alresford & Elmstead

    Liberal Democrats

    Portfolio Holder for Arts, Culture and Heritage; Leader of the Liberal Democrats Group

  • Councillor Ann Wiggins

    Alresford & Elmstead

    Liberal Democrats

    Vice-Chairman of the Licensing & Registration Committee; Chairman of the Standards Committee; Deputy Leader of Liberal Democrats Group

 Reform UK Group

 Not specified